Hyperion, Book 1 – John Keats

« Deep in the shady sadness of a vale
Far sunken from the healthy breath of morn,
Far from the fiery noon, and eve’s one star,
Sat gray-hair’d Saturn, quiet as a stone,
Still as the silence round about his lair;
Forest on forest hung about his head
Like cloud on cloud. No stir of air was there,
Not so much life as on a summer’s day
Robs not one light seed from the feather’d grass,
But where the dead leaf fell, there did it rest.
A stream went voiceless by, still deadened more
By reason of his fallen divinity
Spreading a shade:
the Naiad ’mid her reeds
Press’d her cold finger closer to her lips. »

2 réflexions sur “Hyperion, Book 1 – John Keats

  1. L’un de mes poètes préférés. Je viens de recevoir ‘The Complete poems’, de Penguin Classics. Moi, c’est Endymion que j’adore, Keats est un génie de la poésie! Quelle beauté dans ses vers…

    J'aime

    • C’est sans doute un de mes poètes préférés. Je l’ai découvert par hasard, en allant voir le film Bright Star au cinéma il y a quelques années. Depuis, difficile de décrocher de ses vers.

      J'aime

Laisser un commentaire

